MySQL Tools

I recently discovered some tools for MySQL. No, I haven’t been living under a rock. I’m primarily an Oracle DBA, but I do support MySQL in my role as well. I continue to gather more information as time goes by. I’m curious what other useful tools I may not have discovered yet.

mtop – This tool is a terminal based query monitor for MySQL. I have not used this yet, but will find the time to look at it in-depth.

ZRM for MySQL – ZRM stands for Zmanda Recovery Manager. Reminds me a bit of Oracle RMAN as you can setup a central repository or catalog to administer and track your MySQL database backup sets.

Toad for MySQL – A database management tool from Quest software, there is a freeware version available. I have been using this tool for about two months now and have found it very easy to use when performing database administration tasks.

Leave a Reply

