Mounting Oracle media on HP-UX

One annoying aspect of installing Oracle on HP-UX is the requirement to mount the CD or DVD device, unlike Solaris in which it auto-mounts. I guess what makes it annoying to me is trying to remember the commands. Since Oracle media for HP-UX is RockRidge-formatted, the usual mount command cannot be used. In my case, I am working with HP-UX 11i V1 (11.11).

Another annoyance is the Oracle documentation which appears to be incorrect and/or in my case doesn’t work in my environment.

# /usr/sbin/mount -F cdfs -o rr /dev/dsk/c0t0d0 /cdrom
mount: illegal file system specific option rr

However, I was able to find a solution in Metalink Note 219190.1 using “mount rockridge cd-rom hp” as the search criteria.

Using a Google search with “mount rockridge” as the criteria, I also found information at comp.sys.hp.hpux FAQ and HP-UX Tips & Tricks blog.

To mount the DVD, I used the steps below logged in as root. Assumes the pfs executables are located in /usr/sbin.

1) Create/Edit the /etc/pfs_fstab file.

/dev/dsk/c0t0d0 /cdrom pfs-rrip xlat=rrip 0 0

2) Execute commands below.

# nohup pfs_mountd &
# nohup pfsd &
# pfs_mount /cdrom

3) Unmount when finished.

# pfs_umount /cdrom

Leave a Reply

