First Oracle 11g Installation

As I write this, I am quite aware it is 2010 and Oracle 11g Release 2 is available.  However, I am just getting around to working with Oracle 11g Release 1 which is based on a requirement for our ECM product at the moment.

While installing Oracle Database 11g Release 1 for the first time, I encountered some differences from Oracle 10g.

  • Deprecation of BACKGROUND_DUMP_DEST and USER_DUMP_DEST which have been replaced by DIAGNOSTIC_DEST.  This area is now known as the Automatic Diagnostic Repository (ADR).
  • The ANALYZE...COMPUTE STATISTICS and ANALYZE...ESTIMATE STATISTICS clauses are no longer supported and using them causes errors.
  • The default value of the UNDO_MANAGEMENT parameter is AUTO so that automatic undo management is enabled by default.

Additional Compatibility and Interoperability Issues in Oracle Database 11g Release 1 are found in Appendix A of the Oracle Database 11g Release 1 Upgrade Guide.

From the time I began learning Oracle back in 1995, the Oracle documentation library has been the core requirement over all other references.  I was required to read the Administrator’s  Guide and Concepts manuals from cover to cover.  With my managerial responsibilities over-shadowing DBA responsibilities these days, finding time to read the manuals cover to cover is quite difficult.

In my endeavor to quickly complete the required Oracle 11g installation, I did discover some documentation I have never referenced before.

Descriptions of the SQL scripts stored in ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/admin can be found in Appendix B of the Oracle Database Reference 11g Release 1.

Nothing earth-shattering, but a nice little discovery worth noting for future reference.

2 Responses to First Oracle 11g Installation

  1. I could not have elaborated on this better. This is a matter I often think about and I thought you covered it perfectly. I only just started writing a blog as well but I’m not very skilled at it yet. Would fancy to read more of your site and I’ll unquestionably come back once more!

  2. arpz says:

    have you try installing 11gR2 RAC on HP-UX without using Service Guard.

    OCR and Voting will be store in ASM disk

Leave a Reply

